Prevention

Screening examinations and check ups can flag up diseases before the problems or symptoms have actually started.

Screening examinations for cancer in particular can detect precursor lesions at an early stage. These can then be removed before the cancer sets in. Malignant diseases can be effectively prevented in this way. By contrast, in the context of early detection programmes, these so-called malignant diseases are detected in the early stages when they can still be cured.

 

Check ups: worthwhile screening examinations

 

Cancer is a very diverse group of disorders: some develop slowly and are not life-threatening, others can be very aggressive. After heart and cardiovascular diseases, cancer is the second most frequent cause of death in Switzerland, as in all western European countries. A total of 35,000 people are diagnosed with a new malignant tumour every year in Switzerland.

 

Whether a genetic predisposition actually causes a tumour depends specifically on the circumstances of each individual. According to the latest findings, up to 70% of all tumour diseases can be significantly influenced simply through the individual’s life style. Nevertheless, a healthy life style does not guarantee that we will not fall victim to cancer.

 

The following factors can reduce the risk of tumour-related diseases:

 

  • Daily exercise and sport

  • Avoid becoming obese

  • Low intake of animal fat

  • No smoking

  • 5 daily servings of fruit and vegetables

  • Secondary plant substances

  • Vitamins and minerals

  • Low alcohol consumption: Max. 1 glass of wine per day for women and max. 2 glasses for men

  • Avoid excessive exposure to sunlight

  • Avoid carcinogenic substances (including pesticides, moulds, etc.)

 

These are only guidelines based on the latest findings. We are constantly gaining new insights. And progress is also continuously being made in terms of manageability, for example, fruits and vegetables can be consumed as extracts or capsules.

 

Screening examination

For targeted preventative treatment, it is important to collate an accurate medical history, to determine both one’s own risk factors and those in your family’s medical history, and to individually decide which screening examinations are required.

Usually, this decision is made together with your GP.

Screening examinations for gastrointestinal and liver diseases:

 

Bowel cancer (colon carcinoma):

In Switzerland, bowel cancer is the second to third most common cancer. Every 17th person living in Switzerland will suffer from colorectal cancer. Today, still 36% of people who develop bowel cancer, will die within 5 years. In over 90% of cases, bowel cancer stems from precursor lesions, also known as polyps. These can be detected in a colonoscopy and then removed. According to our studies, the colonoscopy reduces both the rate of new cases of bowel cancer as well as the mortality rate for bowel cancer.

The costs for colonoscopy screenings have been covered by health insurance funds since July 2013.

 

Early detection of bowel cancer:

PDF for download: Fact sheet for the early detection of bowel cancer (in German)
PDF for download: Information leaflet from the Cancer League (in German)

 

Colonoscopy screening:

Since the costs were covered on 1.7.2013 by the health insurance fund for everybody aged between 50 and 69.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Liver cancer (Hepatocellular carcinoma):

Bi-annual check-ups using ultrasound to screen for lesions of the liver, are recommended for patients with histologically proven cirrhosis liver.

 

Stomach cancer (gastric cancer), gullet cancer (oesophageal cancer), pancreatic cancer (pancreatic carcinoma), gall bladder/biliary cancer (cholangiocellular carcinoma), small intestinal cancer and anal cancer (anal carcinoma):

The rate of new cases per year (incidence) for these malignant diseases is 0.5 - 3%: there are no general preventative or screening guidelines in place.

Sources:

Bundesamt für Gesundheit www.bag.ch, Krebsliga www.krebsliga.ch, National comprehensive cancer network www.nccn.org

Article:

"Was bringen Check-ups?" (Beobachter): here you find the article (in German only)

Vorsorge

Bei Vorsorgeuntersuchungen und Checkups können Erkrankungen entdeckt werden, bevor Beschwerden auftreten.

Insbesondere bei Vorsorgeuntersuchungen für Krebserkrankungen können Vorläuferläsionen frühzeitig entdeckt werden, welche entfernt werden können bevor es zur Krebserkrankung kommt. Bösartige Erkrankungen können so wirksam verhindert werden. Demgegenüber werden im Rahmen von Früherkennungsprogrammen sogenannte bösartige Erkrankungen in einem noch heilbaren Frühstadium entdeckt.

 

Check up: sinnvolle Vorsorgeuntersuchungen

 

Krebserkrankungen sind eine sehr unterschiedliche Gruppe von Erkrankungen: einige verlaufen langsam und sind mit dem Leben vereinbar, andere können sehr aggressiv sein. Sie sind, nach Herz- und Kreislauferkrankungen, die zweithäufigste Todesursache in der Schweiz, wie in allen westeuropäischen Ländern. Insgesamt erkranken pro Jahr 35'000 Menschen in der Schweiz neu an einem bösartigen Tumorleiden.

 

Ob eine genetische Veranlagung tatsächlich zu einem Tumorleiden wird hängt individuell vom Menschen ab. Gemäss neuesten Erkenntnissen kann man bis zu 70% aller Tumorerkrankungen mit dem eigenen Lebensstil wesentlich beeinflussen. Dennoch garantiert ein gesunder Lebensstil keinen Schutz vor Krebserkrankungen.

 

Folgende Faktoren reduzieren das Risiko für Tumorerkrankungen:

 

  • Täglich Bewegung und Sport

  • Übergewicht vermeiden

  • Wenig tierisches Fett essen

  • Nicht Rauchen

  • Täglich 5 Portionen Früchte und Gemüse essen

  • Sekundäre Pflanzenstoffe

  • Vitamine und Mineralstoffe

  • Wenig Alkohol: max. 1 Glas Wein pro Tag als Frau trinken und max. 2 Gläser als Mann

  • Übermässige Sonneneinstrahlung meiden

  • Krebserregende Stoffe meiden (u.a. Pestizide, Schimmelpilze usw.)

 

Dies sind nur aktuelle Anhaltspunkte. Ständig gewinnen wir neue Erkenntnisse. Und auch bezüglich der Handhabbarkeit werden laufend Fortschritte gemacht, z. B. können Früchte und Gemüse als Extrakte oder Kapseln verzehrt werden.

 

Vorsorgeuntersuchung

Für eine gezielte Vorsorge ist es wichtig, eine genaue Anamnese zu erheben, um familiäre und persönliche Risikofaktoren herauszufinden und individuell zu entscheiden, welche Vorsorgeuntersuchungen notwendig sind. In aller Regel erfolgt diese Entscheidungsfindung gemeinsam mit dem Hausarzt.

Vorsorgeuntersuchungen für Magen-Darm- und Lebererkrankungen:

 

Darmkrebs (Kolonkarzinom):

Darmkrebs ist in der Schweiz die zweit- bis dritthäufigste Krebserkrankung. Jeder 17. Schweizer erkrankt im Verlauf seines Lebens an Darmkrebs. Aktuell versterben innert 5 Jahren immer noch 36% der Menschen, welche an Darmkrebs erkranken. Darmkrebs entsteht in über 90% der Fälle aus Vorläuferläsionen, den sogenannten Polypen. Diese können in einer Darmspiegelung gefunden und entfernt werden. Gemäss durchgeführter Studien senkt die Darmspiegelung sowohl die Rate der neu aufgetretenen Fälle mit Darmkrebs als auch die Sterblichkeitsrate für Darmkrebs.

Die Vorsorgekoloskopie wird seit Juli 2013 von den Krankenkassen übernommen.

Früherkennung von Darmkrebs:

PDF zum herunterladen: Faktenblatt zur Früherkennung von Darmkrebs
PDF zum herunterladen: Eine Information der Krebsliga

 

Vorsorgekoloskopie:

Seit dem 1.7.2013  Kostenübernahme durch die Krankenkasse für jeden Menschen zwischen 50 und 69 Jahren.

Darmkrebs: Die dritthäufigste Krebserkrankung

Krebsliga Schweiz

Felix Burda Stiftung

Deutsches Krebsforschungszentrum

 

Vorsorge:

Darmspiegelung verhindert Krebs – Zeigt Deutschland den Weg?

 

Leberkrebs (hepatozelluläres Karzinom):

Für Patienten mit einer histologisch nachgewiesenen Leberzirrhose werden halbjährliche Kontrollen mittels Ultraschall empfohlen, zum Screening für Läsionen der Leber.

 

Magenkrebs (Magenkarzinom), Speiseröhrenkrebs (Ösophaguskarzinom), Bauchspeicheldrüsenkrebs (Pankreaskarzinom), Gallenblasen-/ Gallenwegskrebs (Cholangiozelluäres Karzinom), Dünndarmkrebs (Dünndarmkarzinom) und Analkrebs (Analkarzinom):

Die Rate der neu auftretenden Fälle pro Jahr (Inzidenz) liegt für diese bösartigen Erkrankungen bei 0.5 - 3%: Es existieren keine generellen Vorsorgerichtlinien.

Quellen:

Bundesamt für Gesundheit www.bag.ch, Krebsliga www.krebsliga.ch, National comprehensive cancer network www.nccn.org

Öffnungszeiten

Montag bis Freitag

07.30 – 12.00 Uhr
13.30 – 17.00 Uhr

Samstag

Termine nach Vereinbarung

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • social_media2

Folgen Sie uns